Yucatan Peninsula Mexico travel

Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico travel

The Yucatan Peninsula separates the Gulf of Mexico from the Caribbean Sea, extending from Mexico into Belize and Guatemala.  Mexico’s portion is comprised of 3 states: Quintana Roo, Yucatan state, and Campeche.

Throughout the Yucatan, you’ll find stunning beaches, Maya ruins, and cenotes — limestone caves once revered by Maya as passages to the underworld.  Nowadays, though, they’re popular swimming holes perfect for cooling off on a hot day!

The Yucatan’s Caribbean Coast in Quintana Roo extends from Cancun down to Playa del Carmen and the Sian Ka’an Biosphere in the south.  It’s made up of over 100 miles of white-sand beaches known as the Riviera Maya.  Mexico’s hotspot of Tulum and up-and-coming destination Bacalar are here.  While off the coast, you’ll find the islands of Isla Mujeres and Cozumel, renowned for their snorkeling, scuba, and coral reefs.

The state of Yucatan is home to colorful colonial cities like Valladolid and Merida, as well as sleepy beach towns like Rio Lagartos and the island of Holbox.  Further south, Campeche state has beaches on the Gulf of Mexico in its colorful colonial capital of the same name. Other popular Campeche sights include the ruins of Calakmul and its surrounding biosphere reserve.

Check out all my posts on travel to the Yucatan and start planning your own trip!